Philosophy Of Sound (P.O.S) is the brainchild of Polish born Martin K – a philosopher turned music producer who has been busy producing music videos, film soundtracks, podcasts and in the studio with various international electronic and dance artists. Under the moniker ‘Koshowko he released tunes on Clan Analogue and Las Machinas as well as performed live at Renaissance Festival, Opoeia Festival, Electundra, St Kilda Festival in Australia and a tour across Germany. Martin was also a finalist of The International Songwriting Competition in the Dance category and his music videos have also been screened around the globe in a selection of film and music video festivals.

The first single It Is Like That features vocals by New York based Mereki Beach (known for her work with Goldroom, DCUP and Good Night Keaton), live bass by James Thompson (The Moonhops) and funky disco guitar by Brian Westbrook (Secret Masters). Originally released by Portuguese label Discotexas, including a remix by Ilya Santana (Eskimo Records), the original mix and a video. The track was a ‘staff pick’ on Beatport and immediately debuted on various charts. Licenses have seen the single appear on various mixtapes by the likes of Mustang, Tronik Youth and Mighty Mouse, with strong support from the DJ network globally. Featured on ‘Fragile Disco’ EP is an extended, never before released version as well as a remix done by Ilya Santana, a Spanish nu-disco master and one of the most established international producers of this style. This version has spent several weeks on Beatport’s Nu-disco top 20 sales charts.

The second single Freedom, what for? which delivers not only food for the feet but also for thought, raises the bar in conscious dance music lyrics. The song features lead vocals by Magnolia and again funky disco guitar courtesy of Brian Westbrook. Lyrically the song references ‘Po Co Wolnosc’ by the Polish artist KULT, which are one of Martin’s favourite rock bands. When the single was released in March 2012 through Discotexas, accompanied with remixes by Tronik Youth and A.N.D.Y. (Andy Faisca, ex-Mustang) and an ultra-cool video with world first interactive elements, once again the DJ community stood up and took notice. It spent 4 weeks in Beatport’s ‘top 30’ sales chart. The previously unreleased reworked mix that features on ‘Fragile Disco’ EP takes the best elements of the original mix and adds more disco oriented elements, including a new bass line by John Salmon. The EP also features the cracking A.N.D.Y. Remix.

The song ’Fragile Discopromoting the recent EP is an epic indie dance track featuring a synth line from Danish classical composer/ pianist Ben De Murashkin and the mysterious electric guitar talents of g-Quantum. Martin K played all the other instruments and also contributed some backing whispers to the track.  A new music video had been produced and enjoyed extensive airplay on ABC TV Rage, including being selected for ABC TV’s online streaming system (iview). The video features P.O.S performing the song with a collection of innovative visual music production tools, including several iPad apps. A remix of the track by Sydney based duo Coupons has been given away as a ‘free download’ from the P.O.S Soundcloud site.

Capping off what has been a massive few months in the studio getting the EP ready, Martin K has produced reworks of Flight Facilities and Leonard Cohen’s songs, both of which were met with huge acclaim from international music blogs. On top of that POS also delivered a remix of ‘Cairo’ by the Polish marvels Kamp! for ‘Discotexas’ Bucket of Love Vol. 2’ album and an exclusive track ‘Ugliest Twenties’ with lyrics written by Tom Ellard (from the iconic act Severed Heads), for Clan Analogue’s Severed Heads’ tribute compilation album ‘Headspace’.

If you like electronic music with brains, get amongst this.

Sound Cloud: